Got Dirt?

I recently began volunteering at a local farm, where permaculture is practiced. Still, I did not have a proper appreciation for dirt until this past weekend when I watched Dirt! The Movie. You can view it online at Hulu. I’m tempted to call it the most important documentary I’ve ever seen–as in, I would recommend it over all others that I’ve seen in my lifetime.

Desertification, deforestation, urbanization, monoculture, industrial farming, war, coal mining, pesticides…that and more is destroying that which sustains life. I’ll say that again, humans are destroying that which sustains life on Earth. If that isn’t insane, I don’t know what is. Those most responsible remain comfortable and oblivious, or uncaring. So, what is to be done? Dirt! The Movie offers some suggestions. To quote Gandhi, “you must be the change you want to see in the world.”

Anyway, I encourage you to watch the film and share your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

